416.467.9100 | Dundas Data Visualization | Login
Welcome Guest
This is the support page for the legacy Dundas Dashboard application. For assistance with the current Dundas BI application please click here.
Dashboard v5.0

This site makes extensive use of JavaScript.

Please enable JavaScript in your web browser and reload the page before proceeding.

Managing Dundas Dashboard Projects

Hide navigation
RSS
Modified on Tue, 02 Apr 2013 10:36 AM
Click to return to: Documentation | Installing and Administering Dundas Dashboard | Administration


Overview

Use the Administration tab in the Sidebar to manage Dundas Dashboard projects.

The Projects folder.

The Projects folder.


Tip: When you install Dundas Dashboard with the new database option, an initial, empty project (Project1) is created automatically.

Creating a new project

To create a new project from the Administration tab:

  1. Select the top-level Projects folder, then click its menu button.
    The Projects menu.
  2. From the menu, choose New Project. The Create Project dialog is displayed.
    The Create Project dialog.
  3. Type a name for your project, then click OK.

A new project item is created within the top-level Projects folder.

Refreshing the list of projects

To refresh the list of projects in the Administration tab:

  1. Select the top-level Projects folder, then click its menu button.
    The Projects menu.
  2. From the menu, choose Refresh.

The list of projects within the top-level Projects folder is refreshed/updated.

Copying and duplicating projects

Click the menu button of an existing project in order to:

  • Copy the existing project to another project.
  • Duplicate (&ie; make an exact copy of) an existing project.

For more details, see Copying Objects or Projects and Rewiring.

Deleting a project

Warning: Deletion of a project is a permanent operation which cannot be undone.

To delete a project from the Administration tab:

  1. Select the project you want to delete, then click its menu button.
    The Project Menu.
  2. From the menu, choose Delete. A confirmation dialog appears.
    The Delete confirmation.
  3. Click Delete project.

The project is deleted and removed from the top-level Projects folder.

Renaming a project

To rename a project in the Administration tab:

  1. Select the project you want to rename, then click its menu button.
    The Project Menu.
  2. From the menu, choose Rename. A text box appears in place of the project item.
    Renaming a project.
  3. Type a new name for the project, then press ENTER.

The project name is changed in the Administration tab.

Managing annotation groups

An annotation group can be thought of as a folder for organizing and limiting the scope or visibility of user annotations. For example, you can set up an annotation group for a sales team to share notes (&ie; annotations) on their sales dashboards.

From the Administration tab, you can manage annotation groups that are associated with a specific project.

The Manage Annotation Groups dialog

To manage annotation groups for a project:

  1. Select the project, then click its menu button.
    The Project Menu.
  2. From the menu, choose Annotation Groups. The Manage Annotation Groups dialog is displayed.
    Manage Annotation Groups dialog.

The Manage Annotation Groups dialog shows the existing annotation groups associated with the project. Every project is given a default annotation group called Project Annotations.

Adding a project-level annotation group

To add a new annotation group that is associated with your project:

  1. In the Manage Annotation Groups dialog, click Add Annotation Group. The Create Annotation Group dialog is displayed.
  2. In the General tab:
    • Enter a name for the annotation group in the Name box.
    • Enter a description for the annotation group in the Description box.
    • Click Apply.
      The Create Annotation Group dialog.
  3. Click the Security tab:
    • Add users or object security groups to the Groups or user names list as required.
    • For each user or object security group, set the Read/Write/Delete permissions. These are permissions on the actual annotations contained within the annotation group.
      The Security tab.
  4. Click OK.

The Create Annotation Group dialog closes and a new entry is added to the grid in the Manage Annotation Groups dialog.

A newly added annotation group.

A newly added annotation group.


Editing a project-level annotation group

To edit an existing annotation group that is associated with your project:

  1. In the Manage Annotation Groups dialog, click the Edit annotation group button in the Action grid column that corresponds to the annotation group you want to modify. The Edit Project Annotations dialog is displayed.
  2. Follow the same steps as when creating a new project-level annotation group.

Deleting a project-level annotation group

To delete an existing annotation group that is associated with your project:

  1. In the Manage Annotation Groups dialog, click the Delete annotation group button in the Action grid column that corresponds to the annotation group you want to delete.
  2. When prompted to confirm the operation, click Delete.

Warning: This operation will delete all user annotations contained within the annotation group. The operation is permanent and cannot be undone.

Project properties

To view the Properties dialog for a project:

  1. Select the project, then click its menu button.
    The Project Menu.
  2. From the menu, choose Properties. The Properties dialog is displayed.

Use the Security tab in the Properties dialog to set permissions on the project for individual users or object security groups as desired.

See Project Item Properties for more details.

Related topics


Click to return to: Documentation | Installing and Administering Dundas Dashboard | Administration

About Dundas | Contact Us Follow us on Twitter! | Privacy Statement | Report Site Issues

Copyright © 2009-2014 Dundas Data Visualization, Inc.